Writers Night At Drifters BBQ

I talk all the time about how there’s so much in Nashville that I have yet to discover and how I need to explore more. Well last week I was able to check one more thing off of my must see/must do list. A Nashville Writers Night! A new friend invited me out to see him play, and of course I said yes. I had no idea where I was going or what I was going to find once I got there. The only thing I knew for sure is what my friend’s voice sounded like. What I experienced was a nice surprise.

 

Drifters BBQ

Drifters BBQ

Tucked away right off of Woodland Street is Drifters BBQ. Apparently this place has great food and is pretty popular. I’d never heard of it. (the perks of being a recovering hermit) I was greeted by multicolored Christmas lights adorning a spacious patio with tables strewn about. In the corner was a small stage. I walked in at the end of what I’m sure was a pretty cool performance by two brothers. Kind of sad I missed it. Here is how it worked:

Two artists at a time with their respective instruments (read: guitars). Four songs each. Back and forth. Just that simple.

This place was pretty much organic greatness. No frills. No lights. No big production. Just people who love their music and others who love to listen. So Cool!! My ears heard so many voices. So many stories. So many emotions. There were some gems and some duds. I wish I would have taken pictures, but that would have been beyond creepy.

There was a kazoo playing reserved rocker who sang about missing his lady while in a bar in Brooklyn. He voice reminded me of Kings Of Leon, but I could understand what he was saying. There was also a butch lesbian with the highest soprano voice ever. She sang about sunshine and rainbows, and not being accepted. Appropriate. I’m pretty sure someone should hire her to sing lullabies to their children. Everyone wasn’t amazing though. There was a guy who, to my understanding, is a regular. I’ve never seen someone so passionate about the simplest of pointless songs. Ever. This particular week he decided to bring his homeboy from the sticks of Tennessee. This man had a song about a speckled hen. A hen. Needless to say, he was the source of more than a few laughs.

Overall, I loved the writers night experience. My friend and his stage buddy did an amazing job. Good conversation. Interesting people. Will definitely be venturing out again. Any cool writers nights around the city that I should check out?

Leave a Reply

