What Happened To Talking?

I’ve been engrossed in the HBO series Game Of Thrones for the past few days. Yes, I’m watching it as I write this. One of the craziest things about the show for me is how they stir up so much drama and controversy with not an ounce of technology. The people actually TALK to each other!! They travel for months at a time just to have a conversation and make one decision.

Here we are complaining about holding phone conversations and letting the meaning of our words get lost in the translation of a text message. Question: When did non-verbal communication become the way to go? Why for come do I not call anyone on the phone anymore? Why are we so far gone? I used to love sitting on the phone talking about nothing and everything at the same time. Can’t even think of the last time that happened.

There is an upside to all of the technology of today. I am a different type of communicator. I mull over questions and choose my words carefully. Text/gchat/skype/aim give me the freedom to do so and take as much time as I would like. I imagine plenty of awkward silences over the telephone. But one the other hand, how can I improve my communication skills when I have no motivation? #nokellyrowland

I’m about to bring back phone conversations. Why have an expensive phone and plan if I’m not taking advantage of all that it entails? That doesn’t stop Verizon from billing me every month. Yep, I’m going to start communicating the “old-fashioned” way.

Now I just have to figure out who I want to call.

Leave a Reply

