May 9, 2011

I’ve been trying to pinpoint the part of my personality that screams “tell me what to do!! I’ll listen!!” so that I can remove it immediately. It really does bother me that people attempt to tell me what to do. They don’t make suggestions or just state opinions, they make actual statements. Statements!! Need to figure out a way to nip this mess in the bud. I’ll start saying no. Yea, that should work.

I’ve been telling myself that I need to go into hiding for a little while. The past couple of months have been a whirlwind of work, dinners, get-togethers, happy hours and doing hoodrat things with my friends. I’m never at home, unless I’m sleeping. Not that I mind having copious amounts of fun, but I think I need to slow down just a tad. Ok, who am I kidding? It is almost my favorite time of the year. I will not be inside of my apartment unless absolutely necessary. Maybe I should have said that I want to diversify. I can’t do happy hours and lounges all the time. I have to start going to more art galleries, poetry showcases, performances and things. The hoodrat things are fun and all, but I to do things that stimulate my brain. Somehow I’ll find a balance.

I never realize how many mothers I know until Mother’s Day. Since it isn’t a holiday that I actively celebrate, I hope all the mothers saw my twitter shout-outs. I’ve always wanted lots of children, and I don’t think that will every change, but the stories that my sisters tell me about my niece and nephew always cause me to react by stating that I’m never having kids. Those two are interesting. I have a feeling that my kids are going to turn out to be a mixture of the two’s personalities. If so, I’m in for one helluva ride on the motherhood train. Good thing I’m not having any for a very long time.

Besides being out and about having astronomical amounts of fun, I plan on doing some soul-searching this summer. It’s about time that I figure out my next move and map out the first steps. I feel change in the air.

I have a date with Childish Gambino tonight. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

