On “Friends”

I’d like to think of myself as selectively anti-social social. I am quite friendly when in the mood, but am never eager to meet and get to know every person I come in contact with. A simple “hi nice to meet you” is sufficient.

Needless to say I don’t have a huge collection of best friends. When a person has a plethora of  “besties” I become a little suspicious. I do not like the word friend being thrown around all willy nilly. I take friendships seriously, and I got a mean *side eye* for those with a storage closet full of best friends. Honestly, how is it possible to have the type of intimate bond that makes up a best friendship with so many individuals? Surely someone of these people are feeling neglected.

Here is my personal hierarchy of Friendship:

Homies – *read associates* We hang out when we happen to see each other out. They are included in the mass “what u doin tonight” text when I’m trying to find fun on the weekend. I may follow them on twitter if they are interesting enough.

My Girls – These are the women that I talk to regularly. We hang out. We update each other on our lives. I value their opinions. I can always count on them for a great time with lots of laughs.

Best Friends – (These are what others may call their “mains” “besties” “boos”) I have two of these. One I’ve known since the first day of 3rd grade, and the other I’ve known since the first week of undergrad. I don’t have to see them on a regular basis or talk to them on a regular to know that they would be there at the drop of a dime. We are just in sync like that. I tell them all the shit the others don’t get to know.

There are some special people who have earn personalized titles, but these are very hard to come by.

Hope none of my “friends” read this and get offended. If so, oops!!

Leave a Reply

